Vitaliy Malginov

Personal Information

Born in:  I was born in Russia in a city called Kungur, it is a small city.  My family still lives in Kungur and I return there often.  I train in Kazakhstan but I return to Kungur often.
Family and friends:  I have one brother, he is 20 years old and he plays table tennis and football but he doesn�t speed skate.  My mother is an English language teacher.  My father was a trainer in skating.  I have a girlfriend, she lives in Kungur and studies in Chelyabinsk, we have been together for one and a half years.
Religion: I am Russian Orthodox, I go to Church in Russia with my family.
Schooling: I study Sport and Tourism in Almaty, I have one year left and I will finish my degree.
Hobbies:  I like reading, watching films and I hope to learn English.  In Kazakhstan I go to the theatre, hang out with friends.  I like to read Fantasy books.
Other sports:  I began studying skating in 2001.  Before that I was in dancing for 7 years.  I did different kinds of dancing, Latin dancing, different types of European dances.  I met my girlfriend in a dance class, she is a very good dancer!  Paralell to dancing I play football, volleyball, basketball, and athletics (400meter). 

10 Personal Questions

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
I don�t cry.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
When I studied in school when I was younger I could be shy, but now I am confident with myself and I don�t feel shy.
What are you ashamed of?
In my life, I can�t think of anything that I have done that I would be ashamed of.  
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?  Why?
I can�t think of a specific person that I would want to be, but I think that I would want to be a football player for one day.  Because it is interesting for me, I like watching football and I like to play, so I would like to know what it is like to be very good at this sport for one day.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
I want to be a good sportsman, it is one of my dreams. 
What is your biggest motivation in life?
My father is my motivation to continue in sports.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
I don�t know what will happen tomorrow, so I worry about that.
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I�m not sure yet, but I want to do more education in sports, and do higher education in a management college.  I don�t know yet what I will do after this.  Now I just want to focus on being a good sportsman.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
I am not proud, I think it is a bad quality.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
I like myself, I like everything about me.

Favourites and Bests

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
I eat meat, vegetables, hot soup.  My favourite food is Russian Borscht and Russian pelmeni (small pastries stuffed with meat).
Favourite Movie:  I like Fantasy Movies.  My favourite is called "Shadow Boxing� it is a Russian film, a thriller.
Favourite Music: I listen to all music, electronic, classic, rock, I listen to all music.  I don�t like hip hop.
Favourite Love Song: I think if I had to propose to my girlfriend with a song I would use a classic song, but I would choose at the moment.
Favourite Book:  The writer�s name is Sergei Lukianenko.  The book is called "Night Watch�.  It is a fantasy book, and I like this type.
Favourite Car:  I don�t have a car right now, but I like BMW, but I don�t need a car right now so I don�t think about cars very much.
Favourite Country: I like Russia.  I like the Russian nature, forests.  I like to be in Europe, but lots of countries in the world are nice.
Best compliment: I am happy to hear compliments from other people, they are all special to me.
Best memory:  The moment that I met my girlfriend.
Best way to �dress to impress�:  I like to wear jeans and t-shirts and sports style clothing, I don�t dress up very much.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with:  My girlfriend.
Favourite Speed Skater: Sven Kramer, because I like long distance.  For sprints I like Jeremy, he is a great sportsman.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: In Biathlon, Bjorn Dali, he is a great sportsman..
Favourite Ice Rink: Now it is Astana, it is a really beautiful rink.  

Speed Skating

Previous Coaches: My first coaches in speedskating were Bartova Faina and Chusovlyankina Svetlana, and in Kazakhstan my coach is Alexandr Son.  The first coaches gave me the basics of speed skating, and Alexandr Son gave me what I have now.
Started Skating:  I started in 2001 in Russia.  I started because my father had been a skater and coach.  I was with him for one year and after I went with these coaches.
Training Time:  6 days per week, 2 training sessions, 3 hours per training session.
Skates:  Viking boots and blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
In Russia I did town championships, and I won.  In Russia there is a sports festival for young people, and I was 3rd place in the team pursuit.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
I think if I have a very good competition, I am always very happy.  Last year I was very good in the 5000 meters in Astana in out of competition races at the World Cup.
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
In Chelyabinsk in the sports festival for young people, I fell in 500 meters, it was very bad.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
I want to improve my technique, because I think that it is my biggest problem.  I also want to learn to relax more for long distance, I am too tense, I need to be looser.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
I think about 8 hours for me is good.  After lunch I like to sleep one hour maybe, not too long.  When I was young I had trouble sleeping maybe before competitions, but now I sleep good.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
I think if I train hard every time and my training is going very good, I hope that I can achieve this one day.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


182 cm
79 kg
Eyes: green/blue
Shoe size: 41/42

Personal Records

500: 37,63
1000: 1.14,08
1500: 1.53,16
3000: 4.05,57
5000: 6.47,65
10000: 14.14,86