Uuganbaatar Galbaatar

Personal Information:

Born in: Bulgan aimag (province) in the Bulgan sum district of Mongolia.
Family and friends: I am married and have a daughter who is two years old. I have a younger brother and sister, who both skate as well. My brother has won a gold and silver medal in Mongolian championships, my sister also won a gold medal. My family is very special to me, especially my parents. Once I had won a gold medal in a speed skating event and I did not tell my parents on the phone. When I came home I showed them my medal and they were very happy.
Religion: None.
Schooling: Road Transport Logistics.
Hobbies: Apart from Speed Skating, I like to play handball.
Other sports: I have never done any other sports competitively before speed skating, but I like the Mongolian National Rings.

10 personal questions�

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
I am never sad.
What are you ashamed of?
I am ashamed of my English.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?
The President of Mongolia, because then I can do anything for my country that is needed.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
To become the best speed skater in the world, which I am not yet.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
What I will be doing if I quit skating.
What is your biggest motivation in life?
Doing everything I can for my surroundings.
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
I am a Mongolian!
What would you like to pass on to your children?
That she should go skating if there will be a covered ice track in Mongolia once.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
That I was born in Mongolia.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
My English and to get more knowledge of different things.

Favourites and 'Bests':

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
I like to eat soup with meat in it. For drinks I like all different kinds, but I don't like to drink alcohol.
Favourite Movie: Not a specific movie, I like the drama genre. Or funny movies.
Favourite Music: I like to listen to Mongolian music.
Favourite Book: I don't like to read books.
Favourite Car: I would like to have a very fast sports car. At the moment I have a Toyota Prius.
Favourite Country: I have been to a lot of countries with skating, but I like Canada best.
Best compliment: When I met my wife.
Best memory: The period at school when I was a little boy.
Best way to 'dress to impress': I like to be dressed chic and I do it when I go home to my wife and daughter.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: My wife.
Best person to sit beside on a long airplane ride:  My father.
Favourite Speed Skater: Sven Kramer and Jeremy Wotherspoon.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: The Mongolian Judo athletes, who have won several Olympic medals..
Favourite Ice Rink: Calgary.

Speed Skating:

Previous Coaches: In Mongolia my coach was Enhkbayar Trenner. Now Jeremy Wotherspoon and Tristan Loy. I keep on learning all the time.
Started Skating: I started speed skating on natural ice when it was cold in winter. I was 15 years old at the time.
Training Time: Normally in summer 8 hours and winter about 5 hours. Now in Inzell I do a lot more.
Skates: Viking.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
When I competed in the Asian Winter Games for the first time.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
That would be a 'future' world record.
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
All races I lost.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
My technique in the corners. Train hard!
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
9 hours, I always sleep very good.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
Practice will give you results!
Is there anything you would like to add?
For helping me, making all your best! I am very grateful and will never forget your help. My wife and daughter, I miss them.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
I will practise and practise!

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Nicknames: "Uugi" in Inzell but my friends in Mongolia call me "Uuganaa"
Height: 178 cm
Weight: 78 kg
Eyes: Brown

Personal Records

500: 37.91
1000: 1:14.14
1500: 1:52.41
5000: 6:40.92
10000: 14:48.50