Svetlana Kaykan

Personal Information:

Born in: Chelyabinsk
Family and friends: 2 brothers, they are not skaters. I'm married to Marnix and we have a beautiful daughter Sofia-Michelle.
Religion: I believe that there is someone. And I believe that by doing good things in live you can make the world better.
Schooling: University of Physical Education
Hobbies: my baby and my husband
Other sports: I did figure skating, athletics, and swimming before speed skating. Apart from skating, I like to do inline skating and skiing. I like to watch inline skating, athletics, football, and big ice hockey tournaments.

10 personal questions�

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
Thinking about how there are poor people with no money for anything, kids without parents, older people with no money or who are sick, also people who are dying in catastrophes. These things make me sad to think about. I always give money or food for people who ask on the streets.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
If I have to give a speech for president I would be very shy.
What are you ashamed of?
My English
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?
My husband
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
The Olympic medal in my country
What is your biggest worry for the future?
The health of the people I love
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
The pain is temporary, giving up is forever. Everything what not kill me, makes me stronger.
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I would like to stay involved in the sport and do something, but I'm not quite sure yet. I want to help the development of the sport.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
My husband and our daughter.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
My nose, it was broken.

Favourites and 'Bests':

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
My favourite foods are cakes and sweets even though they aren't healthy. I also really like Italian food. My favourite drink is a Latte Macchiato
Favourite Movie: Ghost
Favourite Music: retro
Favourite Love Song: 9 millions bicycle in Bejing.
Favourite Book: biography's of the interesting people.
Favourite Car: KIA SPORTAGE
Favourite Country: Italy
Best compliment: all compliments are nice but the critics are of the same importance for me.
Best memory: my wedding days (4 days with all our friends and family in Inzell in an old hospital where nothing was ready,
but it was special, funny and super exiting. And also the giving birth too Sofia-Michelle together with my husband)
Best way to 'dress to impress': the way I feel comfortable with and sure that I'm pretty.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: FOR SURE MY FRIEND and at the same moment he is my HUSBAND :))
Favourite Speed Skater: Catriona Lemay Doan because she's always friendly and smiling. I really appreciate how great she was at sprinting.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Isinbaeva, she's a pole vaulter. I like watching her, how she concentrates during events and also how good she is with interviews, she also seems like a nice person.
Favourite Ice Rink: Calgary

Speed Skating:

Previous Coaches: Tyushnyakov, Filippov, Muratov. From my first coach I've learned to be discipline and seriously with trainings. From Filippov I get good notes that if you do something, make sure you do that good and not half.
Started Skating: I started with speed skating when I was 14. I just switched from figure skating. Because I liked more to be fast then to do all the figures and I was not good enough in fugure skating, but in speed skating from the first year I got a better results and I was always on the podium. What was very cool for me.
Training Time: in the summer I trained about 25-27 hours per week and at the competitions months it is about 16-17.
Skates: I've Viking shoes and also Viking blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
The first really important competitions were World Junior in 1998 in Rosewille. I did it good, 2nd place on 500m and also others distance I skated pretty well.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
Olympic games 2002 to being representative of your country at the such special event.
Which personal skating results wuld you like to forget and why?
Olympic games 2010, 500m, not being able to compete with the fastest girls at Olympics.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
I want to make our sport more popular, especially in my country. And by winning medals we can get in
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
Not enough for the top athlete, 7 hours. Not always.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day, and what will you do to achieve it?
Never give up, work hard but smart. And be more seriously with resting, eating and with technical stuff.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Country: Russia
Birthdate: 06/08/1978
Height: 169 cm
Weight: 67 kg
Eye colour: Blue
Shoe size: 38.5

Personal Records

500:      37.92
1000: 1:15.89
1500: 2:02.53