Born in: I was born in the center of Copenhagen, capital of Denmark, and lived there ever since. 
Family and friends: I have a 15 year old brother who's also skating and almost everywhere I go we'll be there together. My mom works as a nurse at the infirmary for the army. My dad is an independent photograhper. 
Religion: Hard one, something would have to be defined before answering that. I belive in something more, and to the importance of proper attention to stuff and seeing things as they are.
Schooling: 3rd out of 4 year of Sports High School. 
Hobbies: Watching quality movies, slacklining in summer and messing around with my fixed gear bike.
Other sports: Inline speed skater of heart.


What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
Watching my brother struggeling in anything, sport or whatever. I'll remind myself that he is not me and that he should learn for himself. It then helps me to see the bigger picture.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
Being somewhere where it's hard to be relax and be yourself.
What are you ashamed of?
Nothing (in theory), if anything, I think I would be ashamed of being ashamed
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day?  
One or two minutes maybe, if any.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?  Why?
My brother to see his point of view.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving? 
Looking back on my life as an old man and be 100% satisfied.
What is your biggest motivation in life?
The pleasure of being able to live a life I'm proud and happy with.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
Everything can change quite quickly. Sickness would be an example of that. Having worries for all these things that havent happend yet would be hard to live with I think.
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
I think that staying true to yourself will always lead to the best output as long as you have a clear and fresh mind.
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I'm young and maybe a little naive. I hope for finishing a longer education inside the bioligy-area. Otherwise I'll just see what the future brings.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
I'm quite proud of my brother, he's one hell of a motivated guy and a great training partner.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
Not to bring too much of my frustrations from a bad training to the "outside life".


What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
Recovery: chocolate milk and a banan. I love spicy wok food. 
Favourite Movie:  Many good ones. If just one I would say 'Into the Wild'. Closely followed by movies like 'Fight Club', 'Shawshank Redemption' and 'Forest Gump'.
Favourite Music: A little bit of everything electronic, old rock, jazz... Mostly something chill, when the mood is for that.
Favourite Love Song:  Any of the songs from the Coldplay album 'X&Y'
Favourite Book:  Think on These Things' by Jiddu Krishnamurti
Favourite Car:  Still don't have the license but I would love an old school USSR car. When I have the time I prefer biking or skating though
Favourite Country:  Japan, been there once for Junior World's last season. Maybe I just associate it with the good times I've had there.
Best compliment: One italian guy once told me he liked my style on inline skates, it made me suprisingly happy.
Best memory:  The Marathon at European Championships in Italy 2011. Closest I've got to a "perfect race", still have the race in my head sometimes. 
Best way to �dress to impress�:  I think I like my national inline suit the most. It doesnt squeeze the hip-area in that uncomfortable way that Long-track suits do. I wouldn't wear it out though...
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with:  That would be my brother.
Favourite Speed Skater:  I like H�vard B�kko's style on the 1500's.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: B�rge Scharfe from my Inline club in Denmark. Even with his 70 years I still haven't been able to drop him in cycling, running or MTB trainings. 
Favourite Ice Rink:  From the look I like 'Vikingskipet' in Hamar, even though the vikings were from Denmark (Yes they raped and robbed but we're proud� somehow?). From the skating experience nothing beats skating on a beautiful outdoor rink like Collalbo.


Previous Coaches: Jesper Carlson has been my inline coach since 2007 and since I started ice skating. Daniel Yeow is coaching and has helped me a lot on ice aswell.
Started Skating:  I started speed skating on Inlines in 2001 and tried ice for the first time in 2008. First real ice season was the 09/10 season.
Training Time: Summer like 15-25 hours per week and winter like 17-25 hours.
Skates:  Costum 4G's and PM Viking blade.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
I was taken along for the Viking-Race in Thialf in 2009 and skated for the first time on ice without sand on it� It was a lot of fun and something like 44s on the 500m and 1.25 on 1000m.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
The European title races on inline are very special to me. On ice I clearly remember the allround podium at Viking-Race 2011 and my first time at Senior World Cup in Heerenveen this season.
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
My very first 500m on ice in Denmark, cause I had a bet against an inline friend to beat him but missed it with 0,12 and I skated above 50 seconds� still get reminded about that now and then from him.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater? 
Technique for sure. I still have a lot of things to improve!
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
At the Academy like 9-10 hours back home probably something like 8 hours.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
Fans? Hehe, I like you too mom.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
I far from know my full potential on ice yet since I still feel a bit like an inline. Whenever I achieved something it will always move the expectations and goals up. I'm hoping for going in 2014 and then who knows in 2018? 

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Full name: Stefan Due Schmidt
Nicknames: "Steve", "Duen" meaning the Dove in danish or "Due Schmidt" 
Country: Denmark
Birthdate: 28/08/1994
Height: 183 cm
Weight: 72 kg
Eye colour: Blue
Shoe size: 44