Saskia Alusalu

Personal Information

Born in: I was born in a small village in Estonia called Adavera.
Family and friends: I love my family! I have two older sisters, and one of them used to speed skate. She was my role model. I also have a boyfriend which I love very much.
Religion: I believe in something, but I don't practice any particular religion..
Schooling: I finished high school this summer and now I would like to start university.
Hobbies: I like music. I studied in music school for 7 years. I play the violin. I also like reading books and playing football.
Other sports: Before speed skating I also did Track and Field and skiing. It wasn't serious though, because I like speed skating better.

10 personal questions

What is your biggest motivation in life?
If my family and friends are happy when they can see that I am happy. And if they acknowledge me/my results.
Can you tell us your secret to making someone happy?
There is a different secrect for everyone.
What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
If I or my family and friends have problems/worries then I am sad.
Of what do you dream often and will you achieve it one day, or did you achieve it already?
I want to be a good skater. I really hope that I will achieve it one day.
Everybody has some worries but what is your biggest worry for the future?
I want to be healthy, I think that it is the most important thing in the life. And I really want to get good education, because some day I am too old for being full time as athlete.
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror per day?
5 minutes
If you ever have children (or already have) what wisdom would you like to pass on to them?
I would like pass on to them all the wisdom my parents passed on to me.
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
Today might be a great and wonderful day it depends only on you.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?
I would like to be some skater with good technique, because. I would like to see and learn how it feels.
If you were booking a long trip, whom would you like to sit next to on the airplane?
Someone whom I love.

Favourites and 'Bests'

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
I like all kinds of food. I really like appels and berries.
Favourite Movie: I have a lot of favourites. Two of them are The Green Mile and Forest Gump.
Favourite Music: I like to listen to almost all kinds of music.
Favourite Love Song: I don´t have one.
Favourite Book: Notre dame de Paris, Mängult on päriselt, My Estonia, All quiet on the western front, Old man and the sea and Stieg Larsson's books- Millenium Trilogy.
Favourite Car: I don´t have one.
Favourite Country: I love Estonia, because there is my home.
Best compliment: The Estonian president's wife wrote my characterisation for me and it appeared in magazine. This was a big honour.
Best memory: This is hard question. I have a lot of good memories.
Best way to 'dress to impress': I just want to be myself.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: Someone whom I love.
Favourite Speed Skater: I don't have one.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Kristjan Palusalu, because everyone thought that he is too caring to be a good athlete, but he still won Olympic Games in 1936 in Berlin. Also, my family name comes from him! In Estonia people were able to pick names after the war was over, and my grandfather chose to make our name from this famous athlete, so he made our last name Alusalu.
Favourite Ice Rink: I like Berlin, because there I have had the most training camps. I like Inzell also, because I can train here and live here long time. I think that it is really good for me.

Speed Skating

Previous Coaches: Vaino Treiman.
Started Skating: I was 12 years old when I started speed skating. I just tried speed skates and after that I started training.
Training Time: Before I got here I trained 6 to 8 times per week, but now I train more.
Skates: I wear Van Horne boots and Maple blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
It was a Viking Race. It was my first big race abroad. I was 13.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
I’m really happy that I made it to the World Cups, because I’m the first skater in the World Cups who is representing Estonia, but I hope there are more highlights coming... (There were more skaters in the World Cups about 50 years ago, but they were representing Soviet Union).
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
My first Junior World Cup results. I got disqualified 2 times.
How many hours do you sleep per day, or per night? And can you sleep easily during important events?
I sleep 8-9 hours per night and if I have hard trainings then I like to take a nap (about 30min-1hours) after lunch.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
I will enjoy my trainings and I'll train hard.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Nickname: "Sassu"
Country: Estonia
Date of birth: 14/04/1994
Height: 175 cm
Weight: 64 kg
Eyes: Green and Yellow
Shoe size: 39