Roman Vodicka

Personal Information

Born in: Horni Bradlo. It is a little village in Czech republic and it’s surrounded by nature.

Family and friends: I have a sister and a dog. My sister is also in the Kia academy. My parents live at home in Horni Bradlo. I also have a girlfriend who I love very much.

Religion: Nothing.

Schooling: I study at Palackeho university in Czech republic and I study coaching and sports management.

Hobbies: I like listening to music, and watching Sci-fi movies.

Other sports: I like cycling

Personal Questions

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?

If I lost someone in my family. I would handle it with them.

What is your definition of “happiness?”

Good racing, good exams, family vacation, sunny weather

How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day? And how do you ‘dress to impress’?

Whenever I see myself in the mirror, I look at myself. I look good all the time, no need to dress up ;)

If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day? Why?

My dog. Because I like so much people, and I don’t only have to like one.

If you could possess one superpower, what would it be and why?

I would like to be able to have the sun out everyday.

Is there something that you often dream of achieving?

Be a good speed skater.

What is your biggest motivation in life?

My parents

Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?

“Nikdy neni pozde”

When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?

I want to be a trainer for speed skating.

Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?

My family and how far I’ve come in speed skating.

If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?

Nothing, I like myself the way I am.

Favourites and ‘Bests’

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?

Pizza. For recovery I have protein drinks and carbs.

Favourite Movie: Avengers

Favourite Music: Marpo

Favourite Love Song: This question is too cheesy.

Favourite Book: Star Wars novels

Favourite Car: My car, Peugeot 407 long

Favourite Country: Slovakia

Best memory: Start at Junior World championship

Best way to ‘dress to impress’: As I said, I already look good all the time. No need to dress upJ

Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: My Girlfriend.

Favourite Speed Skater: Sven Kramer

Favourite Athlete in another sport: Alberto Contador

Favourite Ice Rink: Berlin

Speed Skating

Previous Coaches: Roman Vodicka sr. He is with me all carrier. I trust him.

Started Skating: I started speed skating when I was 15 years old. I liked the sport right away and continued.

Training Time: 3-5 hours each day.

Skates: Kmieto boots and Viking blades at the moment.

What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?

Limit for junior world cup in season 2009-2010.

Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?

My first podium was in 2010. Third place from Italia.

Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?

Last 3 seasons, because I didn’t have any progress. But this year it’s already going much better.

What would you like to develop as a speed skater?

Better technique

How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?

I try to sleep 8 hours per day. And before race I try to sleep 8-9 hours. I sleep easily before important events.

Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?

Thank you for supporting me and watching my races.

Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?

My dream is to start the Olympic games, and I will work really hard to achieve it.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Name: Roman Vodicka

Country: Slovakia

Birthdate: 15.07.1991

Height: 176cm

Weight: 72kg

Eye colour: blue

Shoe Size: 42

Personal Records

500m 39,19

1000m 1.17,04

1500m 1.57,78

3000m 4.15,57

5000m 7.46,36