Roman Krech

Personal Information:

Born in:  I was born in Kazakhstan in Petropavlovsk city.  There are 200,000 people in this city.  I still live in this city with my parents.
Family and friends:  I have two brothers who are both older than me, 26 and 32.  They skated when they were young but not seriously.  My mother has a small business, she sells clothing.  I have a girlfriend, she works for the television, she works as an assistant producer for news.
Religion: I am not religious, and I don�t believe.  I believe in reality.  I think that all things are physical, material.
Schooling: I have done University in my city to be a sports teacher, I just finished last year.
Hobbies:  I like doing photography.  I have a professional camera but right now I don�t use it very much because I don�t have that much time for this.  Sometimes I read books, listen to music, things like that.
Other sports:  I like cycling very much (Road cycling and mountain biking).  My brother is on an Astana pro team, but he�s a worker on the team!  I also like athletics, this is my favourite sport, but also speed skating!

10 Personal Questions:

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
Something about sports:  If I have bad results because sport is the most important thing in my life right now.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
Yes, I am shy, always.
What are you ashamed of?
I don�t like to lose my time for nothing and remembering about times where I have wasted my time, I feel a bit ashamed.  If I don�t do something that I wish I would have done, I think about it at night and feel a bit ashamed.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?  Why?
I never think about this because I am who I am.  I like my life and I like what I do and where I am and who I am with.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
I want to build a good family and make my family happy.  Family is the most important thing in life. 
What is your biggest motivation in life?
In sport, I want to write my name in history by what I do.  I like famous sportsmen and they motivate me every day.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
I worry sometimes about my health, because after sport we have a long life and so I want to save my health.
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I don�t know for sure what I will do, but I want to be a doctor, I want to be in medicine.  Maybe a physio or massage therapist in a sports team.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
This question is too difficult.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
No, I don�t want to change anything about myself. I feel okay.

Favourites and Bests:

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
I like to have some protein for fast recovery, I like to eat bananas after training or some cakes.  I like pasta very much, I think it is my favourite food.  Also a food that we have in Kazakhstan (it is from Uzbekistan but we eat it also) it is called plov.  It is rice with meat (beef and pork).  But I like everything.  I also like sweets very much.
Favourite Movie:  I don�t watch movies very much, but sometimes I do and I like drama movies that are realistic.  The last movie that I watched was called "one plus one.�  It is a French movie.
Favourite Music: I like all kinds of music.  Sometimes I like to listen to electronic music from djs, sometimes instrumental music.
Favourite Love Song: I don�t know, but I think that it would be classic music.
Favourite Book:  The count of Monte Cristo.  I like this book because it is very interesting, it�s easy to read and a nice story.
Favourite Car: I don�t have a car, but I have 4 bikes!  I would want to have not just one car, but a car for all road, a jeep, a sports car, and one old school style car.
Favourite Country: I really like Europe very much, Germany is nice, I like Inzell a lot.  I also like Holland, it is an interesting country with many canals, lots of water.  I like countries where there is a sea.
Best compliment: I have some nice compliments, but I prefer to keep them private, I don�t like to boast.
Best memory:  I like to think about the time from my younger years.  I like to remember the moments of nice competitions, nice results.  Also from nice training and good training camps.
Best way to �dress to impress�:  I like to wear jeans and a leather jacket.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with:  My girlfriend.
Favourite Speed Skater: I have many favourite speed skaters.  I like to watch Sven Kramer skating, it is very beautiful; he has a lot of power.  My first favourite skater was Eyvgeny Lalenkov. I like Jeremy of course.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: I have a favourite athlete in cycling, it is Alexandr Vinokurov.  I also like Usain Bolt from athletics.
Favourite Ice Rink: I like Calgary very much.  It is a comfortable ice rink.  I also like Astana because it is very beautiful and it is my home stadium.  I like Thialf in Heerenveen because there is always a nice competition atmosphere.

Speed Skating:

Previous Coaches:  Konstantin Kostusenko was one of my first coaches.  He gave me a lot of knowledge about skating.  Vadim Sayutin was who I trained with for the last 3 years.  He always helped me in every situation and gives me a lot of knowledge in skating also. 

Started Skating:  I started skating when I was 9 years old.  It was my first sport.  I liked training and we had many interesting trainings, playing hockey, football, cycling, skiing.  Then I started to train.

Training Time:  6 hours per day and 6 days per week.

Skates:  I use Viking boots and blades.  I want to try another custom boot now.

What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?

My first competition was country championships in 2000 in Medeo.  I was third.  After that I started to train at speed skating more seriously.

Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?

When I have had nice results it is not always a nice placing, and sometimes I�ve had not very good results but not good placings, so it is difficult.  Each of the personal best times are good results.

Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?

In the beginning of last season, in the first 2 world cups in Chelyabinsk and Astana.  It was also at the world single distance championships 2011 in Inzell, I fell in the 500m and I was disqualified in the second race.

What would you like to develop as a speed skater?

I�m always afraid to start as hard as I can in the 1000m.  I always think I need to go a bit easy and conserve some power.  I also need more power, more strength for sprint, and some of the technique needs to change of course.

How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?

9 hours at night, and I like to sleep for one hour after lunch.  Sometimes I have problems sleeping before important competitions.  I wake up very early, like 6am, and something is in my head and I move from one side to another and can�t sleep.  But I think it�s good, it means your body is preparing for the competition, for maximum power.

Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?

I want to say to my fans, thanks for their support.  Last year we had one fan group from the Netherlands, it is 10 people and they have a Kazakhstan flag and paint their faces and sing some songs, and it was very nice and gives you more power, more drive for the competition, it is a very big support.

Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?

Yes, I think so.  I think that I should improve myself all the time and never stop if I have a bad day, bad training, bad results.  I should keep moving towards the future.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


185 cm
76 kg
Eyes: Brown
Shoe size: 42