Born in: I was born in Palace Verdes California and lived there until I was 11 then moved to Saratoga Springs New York where I lived until I graduated High School. Its a medium sized town but gets very busy during the summer months because the oldest horse racing track in the US is open then and we have many tourist come from all over the world to watch the races.  
Family and friends: I have a mom and a dad and two younger brother. Neither of them skate but we are all athletic kids. My brother Dan is an alpine ski racer for Harvard University and my youngest brother Jack plays hockey and lacrosse.  
Religion: None  
Schooling: I am currently enrolled in classes at the University of Utah where I am studying International Trade and Economics. Before the University of Utah I was a student at Northeastern University in Boston and Marquette University in Milwaukee Wisconsin.      
Hobbies: Between being a full time athlete and student I don't real have much time for hobbies. 
Other sports: I played lacrosse all throughout high school, it is not a very popular sport in Europe but on the east cost of the US is it one of the most popular sports to play. I enjoy watching tennis and US football on TV.  


Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
In large groups of people I am not super outgoing. I am not shy like Ill talk, I just may not be the person to start the conversation.               
What are you ashamed of?
Nothing really. I believe I am a good person. I try to have zero regrets about doing anything but learning from mistakes.  
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day?  And how do you 'dress to impress'?
I spend maybe 2 min everyday in front of the mirror.              
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
Going to the Olympics.     
What is your biggest motivation in life?
I want to be happy in everything I am doing. If your not happy with what your doing pack up and find a place where you will be happy.       
What is your biggest worry for the future?
I want to be financially secure and I know that in todays economy it is harding thing to be then it once was.             
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I know I need to finish my degree. After that I am not sure about what I want to do for a living or where I want to love my life.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
I am proud of the fact that for every year I have been a competitive speed skater I have been in school working towards finishing my degree at the same time.                
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
Sometimes I talk too much and it gets me in trouble. But it also makes my life interesting           


What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
For recovery meals I usually eat a protein bar or have a protein shake. My favorite foods are home made Mac&Cheese, any type of good barbecue and Chinese food. 
Favourite Movie: To many to choose from, The Goonies? I am a huge movie fan and love to watch almost anything. I really like independent, indy flicks. This year I got a few tickets to a few movie premiers at the Sundance Movie Festival in NYC and it was an incredible experience.   
Favourite Music: Everything but Country  
Favourite Love Song: Don't go breaking my heart- Elton John. Ovbi is there anything better than that?  
Favourite Book:  Harry Potter series  
Favourite Car: Aston Martin  
Favorite Country: USA  
Best compliment: One time at a music festival 4 random people told me I have the nicest teeth they have ever seen.  
Best memory: Skating in my first Junior World Competition  
Best way to 'dress to impress': It's always better to be over dressed then under dressed and you always gotta add a little personal style in there too.  
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: I know who I wouldn't want to be stuck on an Island with, thats for sure.  
Favourite Speed Skater: Stefan Groothuis 
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Novak Djokovic 
Favourite Ice Rink: Petitt National Ice Center Milwaukee


Previous Coaches: My first coach was Paul Marchese and he was my coach for over 7 years. I learned from him how to train mentally and physically. His best lessons were how to deal and adjust to the turbulent world of Speed skating and how to prepare mentally for competitions. Then Kip Carpenter was my coach while I was on the SWIFT team. There is where I developed into a 'real' Long Track Speedskater. Most of the technique I learned was taught to me by Kip.  
Started Skating: I started skating short track then I was 10 years old. I started skating Long Track when I was 16 and made the switch to competitive Long Track skating when I was 18 years old.  
Skates: Marchese boots with Twin Laser Blades  
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
I honesty don't remember my first race ever. 
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
Going to my first Junior World Competition was the most special moment for me so far in my skating career. Hopefully there will be many more to come.   
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
Almost everything from the 2012-2013 season. It was just an awful unhappy season but everyone has years like that so you just need to forget it and put it behind you.  
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
Technique is the biggest thing I would like to develop. Even if your the strongest person in the world you can't skate fast if you don't have the right technique  
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
I usually sleep 7-8 hours a night. And no I don't usually sleep great during important events. That's why it is important for me to get good sleep a few days ahead of those events.  
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
I have fans? Uhhh Thanks?  
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
I am a very realistic person. Yes, one day I will be an Olympian. Olympic Champion? I think that comes down to the day of the competition. I have the potential to be an Olympic Champion but right now I need to focus on the baby steps it takes to get to the top. 

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Name: Matthew Rittenhouse
Country: USA
Birthdate: 13/2/1992
Height: 180 cm
Weight: 77 kg
Eye colour: Blue and green
Shoe size: 39

Personal Records

500: 35,90
1000: 1.11,10
1500: 1.49,89
3000: 4.09,36
5000: 7.44,25