Mart Markus

Personal Information:

Born in: I was born and live in a small village in Estonia called Adavere.
Family and friends: I have one brother and one sister, but they don�t skate. I�m not married, but I have a girlfriend. What I like best about her is that she is very kind and she cares about me. I think to make her happy, I just have to smile..
Religion: Sometimes I believe in God.
Schooling: I�m studying in University right now, I have not finished but am going into my third year.
Hobbies: Apart from skating, I like playing the guitar. I also like playing volleyball, football, and basketball.
Other sports: I played football and volleyball before I started speed skating. I wasn�t tall enough for volleyball, and I was better at speed skating than the other sports. I also did some inline skating.

10 personal questions�

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
When people close to me have a problem, it makes me sad.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
I am shy sometimes, in different situations.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?
I would like to be the best skater in the world, because I would like to know what it feels like to be the best and be strong.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
I want to get to the Olympics someday, and I also want to have a nice marriage.
What is your biggest motivation in life?
To have a good career and a nice family life.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
What job that I�m going to have.
Do you know what you would like to do when you are done speed skating?
I would like to be a coach.
How much time do you spend in front of the mirror each day?
Just 5 minutes.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?

That I�m a sportsman.
If you have children one day, what wisdom would you like to pass on to them?
That they should always have willpower.

Favourites and �Bests�:

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
I need protein but I don�t always have it. I like all kinds of food, but chicken is my favourite.
Favourite Movie: I like the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. I like fantasy movies.
Favourite Music: I like all kinds of music except rap. I like Metallica the most.
Favourite Love Song: I really like Estonian love songs. I also like the song "Can you Feel the Love Tonight� by Elton John.
Favourite Book: The best book I�ve read is one about the Estonian Athlete. It gives you motivation to reach your goals.
Favourite Car: If I could, I would buy a car that is environmentally friendly.
Favourite Country: I like Austria the best because I love the Alps.
Best compliment: My girlfriend told me that I�m a role model to all kinds of people.
Best memory: My best memory is when I spent time with my girlfriend in the Spring.
Best way to �dress to impress�: I like to be myself, I don�t dress up in anything special.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: My girlfriend, Jane.
Favourite Speed Skater: Jeremy Wotherspoon, because he has perfect technique.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Andrus Veerpalu. He is a skier and I like him because he is calm and patient.
Favourite Ice Rink: Collalbo.

Speed Skating:

Previous Coaches: V�ino Treiman.
Started Skating: I was 16 when I started speed skating. There were national championships in my village and I thought it looked cool.
Training Time: I normally train about 10 hours per week in the winter, about 12 in the summer.
Skates: I wear Bont because Bont is my inline sponsor.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
National Junior Championships, and I was first!
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
I qualified for the Junior World Championships after I was only skating for one winter.
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
I don`t have any that I want to forget.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
I want to be faster, and I know that I can be.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
I sleep about 8 hours per night, sometimes I sleep easily and sometimes not.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
Believe in me.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
It is my dream, and I will work hard for it.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Country: Estonia
Birthdate: 02/07/1990
Height: 183.5 cm
Weight: 82 kg
Eye colour: Blue
Shoe size: 43.5

Personal Records:

500: 39.09
1000: 1:17.82
1500: 1:57.42
5000: 7:18.09