MARIT FJELLANGER BÖHM

PERSONAL INFORMATION

Born in: I am born in Stavanger, a city west in Norway. This is the 4th largest city in Norway.
Family and friends: I have my mom and dad who always have supported my. My dad was my trainer for many years and followed my everywhere. None of them skated when they were younger, my dad was really good in football.  I also have an older brother. He now lives in the north of Norway, Tromsö. Without my mom, dad or my brother's support I don't think I would do what I do taday.
Religion: None
Schooling: I have a bachelor degree in both marketing and economics from BI Business School. Now I am studying for a masters degree in Economic Analysis at the University of Stavanger.
Hobbies:  I like to hike in the mountains, hang out with my friends. I also love running as training together with friends. In Stavanger I also have a part time job in a bank, to finance my studies.
Other sports:  When I was younger I played both football and handball. But I had to choose, and then I ended up with skating.  

SOME PERSONAL QUESTIONS...

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
If my family or friends get sick, or get hurt.
What are you ashamed of?
Don't know the difference between left and right!!  
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day?  And how do you 'dress to impress'?
I spend 15 minutes in front of the mirror in a normal day, more if i would like to dress to impress. Then I also put on high heels, and a dress!
What is your biggest motivation in life?
The good feeling I get when hard work pays off and gives good results.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
That I get sick or injured and can not do what I want.
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I want to find a good job that is related to my studies, and I want to work in the oil industry in Norway.             

FAVOURITES AND 'BESTS'

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
For recovery I like to eat oatmeal, and crackers with cottage cheese and strawberry jam. My favorite food is fish, almost all kind, but salmon is the absolute favorite.
Favourite Music: I like whatever is on the radio.
Favourite Book:  Dan Brown books, Da Vinchi code, Angels and Demons etc.
Favourite Car:  As long as there is 4 wheels and a motor I am happy.
Favourite Country: Norway, because there is beautiful nature with mountains, the ocean, and nice fjords.
Best compliment: That I smile with my eyes, that means I am happy.
Best way to 'dress to impress: Wear nice clothes, high heels, but still be comfortable. I will never impress anyone if my feet hurt and I am unable to walk.
Favourite Speed Skater: Bob de Jong
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Petter Northug
Favourite Ice Rink: Sormarka Arena in Stavanger, I would never be where I am today without that ice rink I also like Max Aicher Arena :D

SPEED SKATING

Previous Coaches: First of all my dad who has been there with me on the ice from I was 6 years old . I have had other coaches who has had the main coach responsibility besides my dad. Herman Raunehaug in Stavanger Skoyteklubb, from him I learned a lot of technique, specially to place my skates on the ice. Then after some years I trained with Kore Eldevik, from him I learned all about how to skate technically. He has followed me for many years, and always has a good answer to why I have problems when I skate. I still call him for advice. Some years later again the ice ring Sormarka Arena opened and Ingrid Paul became the coach in Stavanger. With her training I got much better in endurance, technique and mentally. I have improved a lot with Ingrid as a coach the last two-three years. Together with Ingrid, Ole Morten Mellemstrand has been with us in all trainings, with technical guidelines, pushing me to give my best in training, and helping me and my team in Stavanger to become better skaters on all levels.
Started Skating:  When I was 6 years old
Training Time: from 10-20 hours a week, depends on what time of year it is
Skates:  Viking
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
It must have been the first time I was racing in Hamar, because then this was the only indoor ice rink in Norway. 
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
Student World ChampionshipS in Zakopane last year.  
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
I have more bad results than I have good ones, but I learn from each mistake so I don't want to forget any of them. 
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
Technique, endurance and good speed.  
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
7-9 hours. I often sleep good the night before important events.  
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
Thanks for supporting me. I will always do my best to improve. 
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
The dream is to be an Olympic Champion, and to achieve that I will work hard, do my best and have fun!

  • en

AmbassaDOORS

  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE

BIO

Name: Marit Fjellanger Böhm
Country: Norway
Birthdate: 24/10/1988
Height: 173 cm
Weight: 69 cm
Eye colour: Blue and green 
Shoe Size: 39

Personal Records

500: 42,67
1000: 1.23,12
1500: 2.06,27
3000: 4.24,91
5000: 7.49,63