Marie Bakken Haugli

Personal Information

Born in:  Jevnaker, a small town an hour from Oslo

Family and friends: I have three brothers, and one of them is skating.

Religion: I think it's hard to explain, because I think that religion shouldn't decide who you are and how you should live your life. If you want to believe in something, that's cool. If you don't, that's cool too. 

Schooling: I will study pedagogy this year, because I don't know what I want to work with later in life and it comes in handy in a lot of jobs.

Hobbies: Playing the piano, experience the world, and most importantly spending time with the people that I love.  

Other sports: I love watching football, handball, cycling and almost all winter sport you'll find on television. 

Personal Questions

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?

If someone close to me were hurt or worst of all died

What is your definition of “happiness?”

My definition of happiness is seeing my friends and family happy. That also makes me happy.

Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?

Presenting something or talking in front of a big group of people

Is there anything that you are ashamed of?

When I speak my mind without thinking and it hurts people

How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day?  

Way too many

If you could possess one superpower, what would it be and why?

The ability to read peoples minds.

Is there something that you often dream of achieving? 

I dream of having someone looking up to me and admiring me. Not only in the sports field.

What is your biggest worry for the future?

I don't like to worry

Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?

I try to find the little things on a daily basis that make me happy

If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?

The fact that I blush so easily. So annoying!

Favourites and ‘Bests’

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?

I love almost all kinds of food, especially tacos. I'm also a sucker for norwegian salmon.

Favourite Movie: I have a lot of favorite movies.

Favourite Music: Music that makes me feel good 

Favourite Love Song: This question is too cheesy to answer

Favourite Book: Looking for Alaska by John Green

Favourite Car: My own, Saab 9000 from 1994

Favourite Country: Norway

Best memory: Being babied by my parents when I was little

Best way to ‘dress to impress’: Wearing something that makes me feel confident

Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: Both of my brothers

Favourite Speed Skater: Both of my cousins, Maren and Sverre Haugli

Favourite Ice Rink: Max Aicher Arena

Speed Skating

Previous Coaches: Knut Andreas Ramsrud thought me everything I know

Started Skating: I don't remember, I've skated since I was very little and I probably fell in love with it because it's really challenging and you have to think a lot.

Skates: Groothuis boots and Viking blades

What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?

My first important speed skating event was the Viking race and it was half good half bad. 

Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?

When I PB'ed in Calgary at the end of 2013/2014 season with 23 seconds on the 5k and 14 seconds on the 3k

Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?

Every 3k in the 2013/2014 season except the one in Calgary

Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?


Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?

That's what I'm training for. I will do my best to achieve it.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Name: Marie Bakken Haugli

Country: Norway    

Birthdate: 14.11.1995

Height: 175cm

Weight: 62kg

Eye colour: Brown

Shoe Size: 38/39

Personal Records

500m 43,51

1000m 1.24,60

1500m 2.10,77

3000m 4.28,29

5000m 7.52,05