Marian Ion

Personal Information:

Born in: I was born in Ploiesti, a small town in Romania.
Family and friends: I have one brother and one sister, but they don't skate. I'm not married but I have a very special girl in my life...
Religion: I believe in God.
Schooling: | started sports studies at University but I`m not finished yet.
Hobbies: I like to play football and tennis, and handball.
Other sports: I didn`t play any other sports competitively before I started speed skating.

10 personal questions�

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
Bad news..
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
I`m shy a lot. This interview makes me feel shy.
What are you ashamed of?
I recently got in a car accident and wrecked my car.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?
Hugh Hefner.
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day?
How ever long is necessary.
What is your biggest motivation in life?
To be good at my profession.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
Olympic Gold.
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I want to be a speed skating coach.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
I made a national record in the 5000m.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
I feel pretty good, I don`t really want to change anything. But if I have to pick something I would say that I`m a bit too sentimental.

Favourites and �Bests�:

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
Macaroni and cheese, and for a drink, coca-cola.
Favourite Movie: The Godfather, because I think that Al Pacino is genius.
Favourite Music: I like Hip Hop, and Eminem is my favourite.
Favourite Love Song: The theme song from Love Story.
Favourite Book: Shogun, because it`s a very interesting book
Favourite Car: An Audi R8. I don`t have a car right now.
Favourite Country: I have never been there, but I would like to go to Egypt to see the pyramids. I really love history and I think it would be interesting to go there.
Best compliment: My father told me that he`s proud of me.
Best memory: I have a lot of good memories.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: My girlfriend.
Favourite Speed Skater: Jochem Uytehaage.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Steven Gerrard, he`s a very good football player and he has a lot of good qualities.
Favourite Ice Rink: Calgary and Collalbo.

Speed Skating:

Previous Coaches: Dorin Zarnescu, he taught me how to skate.
Started Skating: I started speed skating when I was 7 years old. I wanted to do sports so I went into Speed Skating.
Skates: Viking boots and Maple blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
World Junior Championships, I raced okay.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
My national record in the 5000 meter.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
Technique and power.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
I sleep 10 hours at night and at least 1 during the day if I can. I do have problems sleeping during important competitions because I think about the competition too much.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
I love you!!! And you should trust in me.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
I hope so, I will train hard.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Full Name: Marian Cristian Ion
Nicknames: "Mary"
Country: Romania
Birthdate: 14/09/1988
Height: 180 cm
Weight: 68 kg
Eye colour: Blue
Shoe size: 41

Personal Records:

500: 38.86
1000: 1:15.61
1500: 1:51.62
5000: 6:31.58
10000: 14:04.94