Maciej Biega

Personal Information

Born in: I was born in Sanok. This is a small city, about 4 thousands inhabitants. My family still lives there. I went to high school in Zakopane, and University in Cracov. 
Family and friends: I have one older brother and one younger sister, who used to speed skate. I have a girlfriend and I like or even love everything about her :)    
Religion: I do believe in a God, but I don't go to the church. This is not an easy topic for me, because it's really hard to explain what I mean by saying "God".                                                                                                
Schooling: I studied physical education at the University in Cracov for three years.    
Hobbies: When I have free time, I drive my radio control cars with are in 1:10 scale. My rc cars give me the opportunity to drift legally.  
Other sports: I love mountain biking and last year I competed three times, but without any success. I'm much better skater than a cyclist.          

10 personal questions

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?  
I would be very sad if my girlfriend would break up with me and I don't know how I would handle it.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?  
No I can't :P
What are you ashamed of?
I'm not ashamed of anything.
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day?  And how do you 'dress to impress'?
Sometimes I don't even look in the mirror. Usually I stand in the front of the mirror while I'm brushing my teeth, shaving or drying my hair.  
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?  Why?
I would like to be Michael Schumacher for one day, because I am fan of F1.  
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
Of course it is something. I would like to be the World Champion in speed skating.
What is your biggest motivation in life?  
The thought that I would get better and better results.  
What is your biggest worry for the future?  
I'm not worrying about the future.  
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going?
Train hard feel good.  
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
I would like to be less shy.      

Favourites and Bests

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
My favorite food is sushi and pasta. Generally I like to eat and I eat a lot and quickly. My favourite drink is coca cola.
Favourite Movie: I don't watch movies very often but my favourites movies are Seven Pounds and Inception.
Favourite Music: My favourite music genres are dubstep and drum&base, but when I want to calm and relax I listen to chillout music.    
Favourite Love Song: I think that don't have favourite love song. My Favourite song in general is "My Favourite Game" The Cardigans. I like this song because it was used in the game Gran Turismo 2 and this game reminds me of my childhood.    
Favourite Book: Unfortunately I read less books than I would like to read. I like reading biographies, especially about athletes, because they give me the motivation.    
Favourite Car: My favourite car is BMW M5 because this car has Rear Wheel Drive and it looks great too.    
Favourite Country: Poland is my favourite country    
Best compliment: I don't like to boast :)  
Best memory: I like to recall the moments spent with my girlfriend.  
Best way to 'dress to impress' : I like to wear colourful clothes and stand out from the crowd.  
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: My girlfriend.  
Favourite Speed Skater: My favourite skater is Jeremy Wotherspoon. Now I have opportunity to train with him and I'm really happy because of it.  
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Jakub Przygoński - this man is a master of drifting in Poland.  
Favourite Ice Rink: Salt Lake City      

Speed Skating

Previous Coaches: Unfortunately I trained with many coaches. My club coach is Marek Drwięga. I used to Train with Paweł Abradkiewicz for four years. He learned me the technique and professional attitude to sport. He is still my role model. Before joining the KSSA I trained with Wiesław Kmiecik for two years.    
Started Skating: I started when I was 12 years old. One day I went with my classmate to speed skating training and it appealed to me.
Training Time: Usually I train twice a day for about two hours, 5 or 6 times a week.
Skates: I uses Kmieto boots (made in Poland) and Maple blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
World Junior Speed Skating Championships in Erfurt in 2006.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
In 2009 when I made the Olympic limit in Calgary for a distance of 500. It was 35.66s.
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
I want to forget about all the failures in competition.    
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
My skating technique because I know that it is very important in this sport.  
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?  
I usually sleep 8 hours per night, but I also like to sleep after lunch, especially when I train hard.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
Thanks for your support and keep your fingers crossed for me.      
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
I think it is very difficult for me, but I am making an effort every day. I know from being here I'm on good way to my dream.  



  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


178 cm
77 kg
Eyes: Brown
Shoe size: 42

Personal Records:

500: 35,55
1000: 1.10,32
1500: 1.47,72
3000: 4.00,66
5000: 7.10,54