Kaitlyn McGregor

Personal Information

Born in:  Herisau, Switzerland also lived in Rapperwil-Jona, Switzerland
Family and friends:  One older brother Ryan, 21 studying at Harvard University. Mother, Faye, Yoga teacher. Father, Mark, Leadership Center.  My parents are Canadians who moved to Switzerland 20 years ago because my dad was a hockey coach.  I was born in Switzerland but I was only a Canadian citizen until I was 12 years old. 
Religion: No
Schooling: High School
Hobbies:  When I'm not training I like to hang out with friends.
Other sports: Before I started skating I played Ice Hockey.  I was on the Swiss National Team and I competed in the Junior World Championships.  I also did Rowing at the national level.  When I was younger I also did swimming for four years before I started playing hockey.  I used to do ballet and figure skating when I was a lot younger.

10 Personal Questions

What are you ashamed of? 
I believe there is nothing to be ashamed of.  
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day? And how do you 'dress to impress'?
Maybe 5 minutes, some make-up and nice shirt and shoes.  
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?  Why?
I would like to be my father, just to see how hard it really is.  
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
I dream of someday being an Olympic Champion.   
What is your biggest motivation in life?
My biggest motivation in life is just to be happy.  
What is your biggest worry for the future?
I worry about my knee injury.  
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
Don't regret anything you do cause in the end it makes you who you are  
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I would like to work with my father and brother.  Someday we'd like a family business in leadership training.  I would like to be a part of it on the speaking and coaching side.  
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
My family.

Favourites and Bests

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
I like to have a shake after training.  My favourite food is peanut butter!  
Favourite Movie:  Just Go With It
Favourite Music: Kings Of Leon
Favourite Love Song: You Are So Beautiful
Favourite Book:  I don't really read outside of school work.
Favourite Car:  I like Mustangs but if I could have any car in the world I would pick the Porsche Panamera.
Favourite Country: Switzerland because of the mountains, and it's always so clean.
Best compliment: That I'm a quick learner
Best memory:  Lots of times when my whole family is together, maybe on a family vacation.
Best way to 'dress to impress':  Yes, it depends where I'm going.  I like to wear dresses sometimes.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with:  My dad because he can always think outside the box, and I think that he could get us off of the island.
Favourite Speed Skater: Cindy Klassen.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Roger Federer because I think that he's the ultimate athlete.  He's great not just in tennis, but he's great in interviews, he speaks lots of languages, he's involved in lots of charities, and he's a father of twins.
Favourite Ice Rink: Inzell because it's surrounded by the mountains, and it also gives me a good feeling outside of the rink.

Speed Skating

Previous Coaches:  Brigitte Riesen and Desly Hill, everything i know about skating so far. Started Skating:  When I was 12, I wanted to get into a sport school in Switzerland and my grandmother told me about Cindy Klassen who also switched from Hockey to Speed Skating so i thought i would try it too.
Training Time: Around 4-5 hours and 6 days a week.
Skates:  Groothuis boots and Viking blades
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
A junior international Race in Collalbo, i won.  
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
Winning the Viking Race in Heerenveen in 2010 and winning 3 medals at Junior World Championships in Collalbo 2013. 
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
Getting injured last season.  It happened around December, my knee became swollen one evening.  
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
I would like to become more consistent.   
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
Normally I sleep around 8 hours every night.  I also like to nap sometimes for about 40 minutes.  I don't have problems sleeping before important competitions.  
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
Thanks  
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
Yes, I will do everything I can.

  • en

AmbassaDOORS

  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE

BIO

Switzerland
03/03/1994
167 cm
63 kg
Eyes: Green/blue
Shoe size: 39

 

Personal Records

500: 39,38
1000: 1.17,53
1500: 1.59,32
3000: 4.19,10