Born in:  Leidschendam, a small place close to a big city: Den-Haag. 
Family and friends:  I have two older sisters and one younger brother. My sisters are 22 and 24 and my brother is 17 years old. They all skated when they where young but not anymore, just sometimes for fun. My parents work in ICT.
Religion: No.
Schooling: I finished high school last year. 
Hobbies: Having fun with my family and friends.
Other sports: I played soccer, but when I was 15, I needed to choose between soccer and speed skating.


What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
If one of my friends or family is sad, it makes me sad as well. I will try to stay positive.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
When I am with people who i don't know.
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day?  
Maybe 5 minutes.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day? Why?
I don't want to be an other person, I would like to be young again, 8 or something, at that age it's all about playing outside and having fun with your friends, no worries!
Is there something that you often dream of achieving? 
To be the best speedskater in the world. 
What is your biggest motivation in life?
Striving for perfection. You're never done, there is always something to improve.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
To become old. Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'? Have fun, be happy and enjoy your life!
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I have really nooooooooo idea. 
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
My family and friends.


What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
I like different kind of foods. Sushi, fruit, ice cream and chocolate.
Favourite Movie:  I don't have a favourite movie.
Favourite Music: I don't have a favorite music style.
Favourite Love Song:  I don't know.
Favourite Book:  Books? I don't read that much to be honest.
Favourite Car:  I don't know, just a nice car.
Favourite Country: Countries where the weather is nice, the sand is white and the water is blue. Besides those dream countries, I like the Netherland! (of course) 
Best compliment: That I make people smile.
Best memory:  That's a hard one. I think my whole life, so far so good!
Best way to 'dress to impress':  Clothes which looks nice and make me feel happy. Not specifically, can be everything!
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with:  Don't want to think about that one. I would rather stay here, in touch with the real world!
Favourite Speed Skater: Actually, I don't have one specific favourite Speed Skater. You can learn from everybody.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: I look up to all kind of athletes who fulfilled their dreams.
Favourite Ice Rink:  So far, Inzell! 


Previous Coaches: Jos Westerman (pupil), Geerd Hilgersom & Sieb Wiersma (jun C). Martijn Klip, Raymond Barendse & Dave van Dam ( jun B) Arnold van der Poel & Wim den Elsen ( jun A)
Started Skating:  I started speed skating when I was 8 years old. 
Training Time: We mostly train 4 or 5 hours a day, 6 days a week. 
Skates:  I use Maple boots and Maple blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
Every Dutch Championship is important for me, but internationally, it would be the Junior World Championships. What should I say,  I got sick, two days before the WC.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
I'm working on my highlights!
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
My 1500m at the Dutch Championchips Distances Juniors. I came back from a sickness, and I already finished two 500 meters and a 3k. The 1500m the last day was too much. 
What would you like to develop as a speed skater? 
My  technique.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
Around 8 hours a day. It's not a big problem to sleep during important events.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
You're the best.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
We will see, but I am going to do everything to fullfill that dream.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Name: Julia Berentschot
Country: The Netherlands
Birthdate: 11/04/1994
Height: 175 cm
Weight: 65 kg
Eye colour: Blue
Shoe size: 40.5

Personal Records

500: 40,46
1000: 1.19,92
1500: 2.03,50
3000: 4.21,64