Born in: I was born in Christchurch which is the second largest city in New Zealand situated on the east coast of the South Island and lived there for 16 years until moving to Auckland after the series of earthquakes that struck Christchurch during the years of 2010/2011. Auckland is the biggest city in New Zealand with a population of 1.5 million people located in the upper North Island of the country. I still really love any opportunity to go back to Christchurch because it is such an awesome place.

Family and friends: Back home I lived with my parents and my younger brother who is also pursuing a career in Football (soccer). My parents were both Short Track Speed Skaters back in their day. My Mum was a European Champion and my dad made it to two Olympic Games (finishing 4th in 1992) and he and his relay team were World Champions in 1993. He also broke and held the world record for some time in the 1000m.

Religion: This is quite a sensitive topic… But, I don’t think that life as we know it just happened by itself. One thing I do believe in 100% is myself.

Schooling: I went to three different high schools. The first one didn’t work out very well due to bullying. Bullying is something that has to be stopped! The second high school that I attended was really good and I loved it there and it was really sad that I had to leave there when I moved to Auckland. I didn’t really enjoy the school that I went to in Auckland but it was alright I guess.

Hobbies: I do enjoy sports quite a bit.

Other sports: Cycling is one of the other sports that I really enjoy.


What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?

When terrible things happen and there is no solid logical reason as to why this just happened. The Christchurch earthquakes is an example of this. Christchurch was one of the last places in New Zealand to even expect an earthquake. And then it all turns to custard in the blink of an eye. Going out for long bike rides was really good to clear my head for a bit.

Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?

Public speaking. I just can not talk in front of a group of people, big or small.

What are you ashamed of?

Nothing that I can really think of.

How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day? And how do you ‘dress to impress’?

To be honest I probably spend less than 2 minutes in front of the mirror everyday. One of the benefits of keeping your hair short. I dress more for practicality rather than to look good. I haven’t ever really had a good sense of fashion. But, I would usually wear jeans and a shirt when I go out.

If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day? Why?

I am very happy being myself… But for just one day I would like to be the prime minister and actually try to achieve some major things that are needed to be improved in New Zealand instead of mucking about for a couple of years.

Is there something that you often dream of achieving?


What is your biggest motivation in life?

My parents are very big supporters of me.

What is your biggest worry for the future?

Obviously failure is a worry but its just one of the stepping stones.

Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?

Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever. This is still my favourite quote. Lance Armstrong was my biggest hero.

Another good one is “Shut Up Legs” – Jens Voigt.

When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?

Well I have thought about making my own bikes…

Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?

Winning a Criterium in Auckland through a solo breakaway and sweeping up all the intermediate sprint points… that was pretty cool.

If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?

I am happy just the way I am


What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?

I really enjoy my Mums Spaghetti / Pasta. I would eat that anyday.

Favourite Movie: 21 Jump Street is a pretty good laugh.

Favourite Music: Phil Collins, Owl City or some Classic Rock

Favourite Love Song: When can I see you again?, Owl City

Favourite Book: When I was younger I really enjoyed the Alex Rider from Anthony Horowitz

Favourite Car: Ferrari 458 Italia

Favourite Country: I’d love to visit Canada some day.

Best compliment: Your quads a very well defined.

Best memory: Spending time with family in Hanmer Springs. It’s a lovely little town in the middle of the South Island in New Zealand.

Best way to ‘dress to impress’: Jeans and a shirt.

Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: Jim Carrey! That would be fun haha!

Favourite Speed Skater: Sven Kramer

Favourite Athlete in another sport: Cycling - Philippe Gilbert. I love his perfectly timed attacks!

Favourite Ice Rink: Max Aicher Arena in Inzell. This is because it is the only oval that I have actually trained in.


Previous Coaches: My previous Short Track coaches were My dad Mike McMillen and also Matthew Briggs. They both skated together back in the day and they did have a lot of very valuable experience.

Started Skating: I have been skating since I could walk I think. Every Monday night for at least 10 years was skating. I Started doing long track in October 2013

Training Time: My Hauraki team in Auckland had 2 hours of short track training per week. 1 hour on Friday night and another hour on Midday Sunday.

Skates: I have Vikings.

What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?

I have yet to do a Long Track race.

Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?

Not yet…

Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?

2013 Canterbury Short Track Champs in Christchurch. Junior 1500m Final. I placed 4th but I did not race smart I just stayed at the back and waited for someone else to chase down the lone skater that broke away. I should have gone and done it myself.

What would you like to develop as a speed skater?

I would love to develop massive quads.

How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?

I don’t usually sleep during the day.

Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?

When you feel like it hurts that is when to go even harder. Everybody else is feeling the pain as well but to push through it is going make the difference

Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?

YES! Train really hard and not give in. Push through the pain and keep going.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE

Jordan McMillen


Name – Jordan McMillen

Country – New Zealand


Height – 193cm

Weight – 70kg

Eye colour: Green

Shoe Size: 44 / 42 Skates


Personal Records

500: 41,91
1000: 1.22,85
1500: 2.03,37
3000: 4.16,39