Johanna Östlund

Personal Information

Born in: I was born in Gävle, it has around 90 000 inhabitants.
Family and friends: I have two sisters and one brother, all older than me. One sister used to skate but quit before she got fast. I'm not married, but that doesn't mean that you can assume that I'm single... There are some special people in my life!
Religion: No.
Schooling and work: I studied 3 years of food science in university. I have had a couple of part time jobs, last one was working in a health food store.
Hobbies: Most sports, I like to do downhill skiing, cross-country, hiking, rock climbing, soccer. I also like music and logical games, like Solitaire :)
Other sports: Soccer, orienteering, and a little bit of track and field.

10 personal questions

What will you do when you have finished skating?
I want to try some multi-sport events!
What are you ashamed of?
I'm already blushing just thinking about it, I can't tell you!...
Is there something that you dream about often?  
I often dream of when I skate that perfect corner, it hasn't happen in real yet.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?
Someone from the past who did something bad and change it to something good.
What is your biggest motivation in life?
I make sure that I always have something fun to look forward to.
What are you most proud of?
I wouldn't say I'm 'proud', but I'm happy about some things I've done, like going to Canada to improve my english and skating.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
I don't worry very much!  
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
I want 2cm longer legs, and then I'm perfect!
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror per day?
5 to 10 minutes.
If you ever have children (or already have) what wisdom would you like to pass on to them?
That speed skating is the meaning of life.  

Favourites and Bests:

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
I like milk and bananas for recovery, and when it's not recovery I like milk and bananas too! My favourite drink is milk!!
Favourite Movie: I like "Into the Wild" because it's well produced and has a good message.
Favourite Music: I like Indi Pop and Rock and 80s music.
Favourite Love Song: Playing 'Time of My Life' and doing the dance from the movie 'Dirty Dancing' would be a perfect way to get engaged.
Favourite Book: 'En komikers uppvaxt' (A comedian's childhood) because it made me both cry and laugh.
Favourite Car: A car that would be big enough to fit all of my kids and sports equipment!!! (when I'm done skating).. I have never owned a car.
Favourite Country: I love Sweden, but the South of Germany is great too, because it offers lots of activities, both in the summer and winter. 
Best way to 'dress to impress': I undress... you never know when..
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: Someone smart who can teach me how to get back and survive.
Favourite Speed Skater: I don't have one, sorry! But I like most skaters.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Carolina Kluft is a cool girl, she used to win everything in Hepathlon and is also very happy in front of the camera.
Favourite Ice Rink: Calgary, it's the fastest that I've skated in.  

Speed Skating

Past Coaches: My mom was my first coach, who taught me the basic technique and lots of drills.
Skates: Vikings, they fit so nice that I could sleep in them!
Training time: 7 to 8 times per week before I got to Inzell, probably a lot more now that I'm here!
Started Speed Skating: Because my sister was skating and we lived close to the oval, I was 3 or 4 or something like that.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
Swedish Youth championship was important to me, got some medals at least
Which personal skating result would you like to forget?
I already forgot.
What would you like to develop as a Speed Skater?
How long do you sleep at night, and do you have trouble sleeping ever?
I usually sleep around 8 hours, and I have no problems sleeping.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
Never give up if you believe that you can reach something that you want.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
If not in this life, it will be in my next. To achieve it I'll just skate faster than everyone else!

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Full Name: Johanna Sofia Östlund
Country: Sweden
Birthdate: 01/05/1987
Height: 169.9 cm
Weight: 64 kg
Eye colour: Blue
Shoe size: 37


Personal Records

500:      40,28
1000: 1.18,01
1500: 1.59,75
3000: 4.18,63
5000: 7.58,05