Jeremy Wotherspoon

Personal Information

Born in:  Humboldt, Saskatchewan.  My family moved to Red Deer, Alberta when I was about one and a half years old. I lived there until I graduated from high school at which point in time I moved to Calgary.
Family and friends:  I have a girlfriend/wife who I have been with for almost 10 years.  She also used to skate, and we now work together in Inzell.  We have a daughter who is almost 2 years old, named Ella.  I have two sisters, and one is skating on the Canadian team (Danielle).  My mother is a retired teacher, and my father was also a teacher.
Religion: None.
Schooling: I took classes at the University of Calgary while I was skating but never completed my degree.  I am now working on the Dutch coaching certification program.
Hobbies:  Working. All the time. When I'm not working I like to drink wine and spend time with my family.
Other sports:  Oldies hockey in Inzell.     

10 personal questions

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
One thing that has made me sad is when my daughter had to stay in the hospital for two and a half weeks after she was born.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
I'm too old to be shy. As you get older you aren't as worried about making mistakes, or what other people think.  But I don't think I was ever really shy.
What are you ashamed of?
I can't think of anything I've ever done to be ashamed of. 
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?  Why?
I would be my daughter.  It would be interesting to see what's going on in her head.
What is your biggest motivation in life?
To do everything that I do completely.  No half measures.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
I only worry about the present.
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
Be who you want to be, go where you want to go.
Is there anything in your life that you are the most proud of?
My daughter.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
Nothing, because with mental things you generally do have the ability to change them.  

Favourites and Bests

What do you think skaters should eat for recovery? What are your favourite foods?
A well balanced diet, fat, protein, and the right amount of carbohydrates.  Oily fish.  My favourite foods change, but I really like authentic Italian pasta and pizza.  Wine.
Favourite Movie:  I don't have a favourite, but I like off-beat comedies. 
Favourite Music: It's always changing, I don't know why people have to have favourites of things.
Favourite Love Song: Maybe "Something" by the Beatles.
Favourite Book:  Right now I like reading about nutrition and human nature.
Favourite Car:  In Canada we have a Toyota Prius, and in Germany we have a KIA C'eed wagon.
Favourite Country: Canada.  I like the openness, freedom, and being able to go fly fishing.
Best compliment: "Nice Comeback" by Pekka Koskela.
Best memory:  From my childhood, my best memories are from going to my grandparents' cabin at Turtle Lake Saskatchewan and fishing.  A more recent good memory is bringing my daughter home from the hospital.
Best way to 'dress to impress':  I think I've impressed people most wearing a speed skating suit.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with:  Ella.  I think she would think it was fun.
Favourite Speed Skater: Dan Jansen, because I like the way he skated and he had a nice story to his career.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Donovan Bailey.
Favourite Ice Rink: Calgary, because I had so many good experiences there, and it's the reason I became good at skating.  

Speed Skating and Coaching

Previous Coaches and colleagues: 
I have learned something from every coach that coached me and that I have worked with since I started coaching.
Started Coaching: 
I started coaching 2 years ago, helping out with the junior group in Calgary.      
Are there any highlights in your coaching career that are the most special for you? 
Seeing people improve and learn is always a highlight, because that's the point of coaching.  Getting to know a group of skaters is also a highlight of coaching.  
Are there any results from your skaters that you would you like to forget and why? 
No, because there is no point in forgetting something.  
What would you like to develop in your speed skaters?
I would like them to develop their technical skating skills, but more importantly I would like them to become responsible athletes and learn the ability to critique themselves in order to be able to learn constantly.  I want them to understand skating.    

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Name: Jeremy Wotherspoon
Country: Canada
Birthdate: 26/10/1976
Height: 190 cm
Weight: 80 kg
Eye colour:  Green
Shoe Size: 45

Personal Records

500: 34,03 (WR)
1000: 1.07,03
1500: 1.46,18