Jee-Min Ahn

Personal Information:

Born in:  I was born in Seoul Korea.  My family still lives there.
Family and friends:  I have one older brother and one older sister.  My sister did figure skating, but she is finished now.  My brother did one year of speed skating when he was young.  My mother is a housewife, and my father is a chairman with a small company.
Religion: I believe, I am a Catholic.
Schooling: I studied physical education in Korea in University, I have 2 and a half years left.
Hobbies:  I like to read novels.
Other sports:  Before speed skating I did swimming, but just for a hobby.  I like to play tennis.

10 Personal Questions:

Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
Yes, I am shy often, especially meeting new people.
What are you ashamed of?
I feel ashamed when I don�t do my best in everything.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?  Why?
I would like to be my sister.  Because I want to be just a student, not a skater just for one day to see what it is like.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
I don�t have a complete dream, but my goal is just to be happy. 
What is your biggest motivation in life?
When I feel that something is funny that I do, then I want to do it more!
What is your biggest worry for the future?
My biggest worry is that I will get an injury from skating.
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
It is in Korean, but it means "just live like a river.�
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I will go back to my school and keep studying in physical education, and maybe after that I can be a teacher.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
I am proud that I am a skater.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
I don�t want to change anything about myself.

Favourites and Bests:

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
I like to eat fruits or chocolate!  My favourite food is Korean ramen, it is noodles with spicy sauce.
Favourite Movie:  Pride and Prejudice because I like the story.
Favourite Music: I like Korean music. 
Favourite Love Song: I don�t have one.
Favourite Book:  It�s the same as the movie!
Favourite Car:  I have a KIA �Morning� car in Korea!  I like my car, if I could have any car, I would still keep this car!
Favourite Country: I like Korea!
Best compliment: I can�t think of one right now.
Best memory:  I had a very good result and did a high five with my coach, and it was the first time, and it was very nice.
Best way to �dress to impress�:  I would wear a nice dress, but I only like to wear them for parties.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with:  I would take my mother with me.
Favourite Speed Skater: Yu Jing, because she is the fastest woman at 500 meters.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: In Tennis, I like the Serbian player Djokovic because he is a very nice tennis player.
Favourite Ice Rink: My favourite ice rink is Calgary, because it is very warm there.

Speed Skating

Previous Coaches: Yoon ue-jung was my first coach, and I learnt to train. Juon poong-sung was next, and he taught me elementary techniques, and kang jae-gu taught me the details of skating.
Started Skating:  I started when I was 7 years old, I started just for a hobby.
Training Time:  Every day normally we train 7 or 8 hours, and we train five or six days per week.
Skates:  I use Cen boots and Viking blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
My first competition was when I was 7, it was just a children�s competition, and I fell down!
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
A competition in Korea and I did all-round, it was for selection of junior world championships, and I had the best time in every distance.
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
Four months ago in Korea at the biggest Korean competition, and I had a very bad result.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
I need to improve my power and technique.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
I sleep 9 or 10 hours every night, but sometimes if I�m very tired I can sleep 12 or more!  I also sleep one hour during the day between training sessions.  I don�t have trouble sleeping before important competitions.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
I don�t have many fans yet so I don�t know what to say.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
Maybe some day I can, I will just continue training hard.

  • en

AmbassaDOORS

  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE

BIO

Korea
29/04/1992
167 cm
58 kg
Eyes: Brown
Shoe size: 7.5

Personal Records

500: 38,64
1000: 1.17,21
1500: 2.04,59
3000: 4.34,24