Hiroki Abe

Personal Information:

Born in:  I was born in Hokaido Province, Kitamy city.  The population is 100,000.  It is a medium-sized city.  My family still lives there.  I went to high school in Obihiro, and University in Tokyo.  After University I went back to Obihiro.
Family and friends:  I have one older sister and she is 27, but she never did speed skating.  And I have a dog, Noboru; he stays with my parents.  My mother is an elderly care manager, and my father is a civil engineer.
Religion: No, I do not believe. Schooling: I studied physical education in University for 4 years.  I graduated and am finished my studies.
Hobbies:  When I have free time, I just sit� just joking.  I learnt piano when I was younger, but I can�t remember anymore.
Other sports:  In junior high school I played baseball, and did swimming, and I did competitions.  After junior high school I did track and field, 1500meter, 3k.  In high school only speed skating.  I also like to golf in spare time.

10 Personal Questions:

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
I don�t get sad, every day I am smiling!
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
I am never shy, never ever!
What are you ashamed of?
I am never really ashamed, but a little bit that I don�t speak English.  
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?  Why?
I would be Warren Buffet, because he has so much money� I like money!
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
I hope to compete in the Olympics one day. 
What is your biggest motivation in life?
I want to do well and share my joy with my fans!
What is your biggest worry for the future?
No, I do not worry about the future.
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I don�t know yet, but I must find a job and work hard to make money, in any job!
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
That I am able to come to the Kia Speed Skating Academy and train here.  I am very proud that in Japan we are able to go and learn in other countries.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
I want to be taller!

Favourites and Bests:

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
Ice cream, especially dairy queen dip cones!  When I was in Calgary for the Oval Finale Competition, I ate one every day!  My favourite foods are corn soup and pumpkin soup, and sashimi.  I also like Japanese Monja-yaki (it is mixed vegetables and other things, and is very famous in Japan).
Favourite Movie:  I don�t have a favourite movie, and I like all kinds of movies, and there are too many to choose from.
Favourite Music: I like every type of music, there isn�t any that I don�t like.
Favourite Love Song: I like Adele, "someone like you.�  But it�s not a love song, it�s a �breaking heart song.�
Favourite Book:  I don�t like to read.  It�s too tiring.
Favourite Car: I like Porsche.
Favourite Country: My favourite country is Canada, because I have many friends there.  The first time I went somewhere far in the world, it was to Canada in a summer camp in junior high school.
Best compliment: My high school teacher complimented me very much, and I appreciated it.
Best memory: I have many good memories in my life.  I make great memories every day.
Best way to �dress to impress�:  I like to wear G-star wear.  On a special occasion, if I go to a very good restaurant I would wear a suit.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with:  People who I like is a secret someone�
Favourite Speed Skater: Jeremy Wotherspoon!
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Naoko Takahashi.  Sidney Olympic Marathon gold medallist from Japan.
Favourite Ice Rink: Obihiro is my favourite, it is my home rink.

Speed Skating:

Previous Coaches:  In elementary school and junior high school, my coaches were Seiji Hatanaka and Sakai Toshiuki.  Also Masayuki Kawahala is my coach right now.  My University coach was Kuroiwa Tosiyuki.  I learned skating technique and good thinking from them.  I had so many good coaches, I can�t name them all here, but they were all very good coaches and taught me a lot.
Started Skating:  I started when I was 10 years old.  I started because I was a kid and thought it was good to start doing something for baseball during the winter.
Training Time:  Normally I train 3 times per day in Japan, for a total of about 8 hours per day.  We do not have certain days off, but it changes all the time.
Skates:  I wear Marchese boots and Viking blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
My junior high school championships in Hokaido, and I won in the 5k!
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
My first competition, that I mentioned above, is very special to me.
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
Last year at the Japan Single Distance Championships, in the 1500, I had a very bad race.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
I want to change everything that Jeremy says is bad with my skating.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
In Japan I sleep in small periods throughout the day because of training.  I only sleep 4 hours at night, because we train very early in the morning.  So normally I would go to sleep at midnight, and have to wake up at 4am for training at 4:30am.  Then I would eat breakfast after training, and then sleep from 7am to 9am.  Then train again, then eat lunch and sleep again after lunch.  Then train again.  I don�t have no problems sleeping before competitions.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
I want to say thank you for cheering for me!
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
I think it is very difficult, but I will make an effort every day!

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


166 cm
64 kg
Eyes: Brown
Shoe size: 25

Personal Records

500: 36,58
1000: 1.10,32
1500: 1.46,66
3000: 3.46,91
5000: 6.29,76
10000: 14.16,96