Haralds Silovs

Personal Information:

Born in: Riga, it�s the capital and the largest city in Latvia.
Family and friends: I have one brother who used to skate. He was better than me. I�m not married but I have someone who is special in my life. To make someone happy, you need to first be happy yourself.
Religion: I believe in my own god.
Schooling: I�m about to graduate from University College of Ventspils.
Hobbies: I love mountain biking, track cycling and outdoor activities.
Other sports: I did short track before I started speed skating.

10 personal questions�

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
Illness and health issues. If you are healthy than the rest is in your hands.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
What are you ashamed of?
There is nothing to be ashamed of.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?
Maybe a rock star, that would be a great experience.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
I�m hungry for an Olympic medal.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
If I would get limited to something I like.
What is your biggest motivation in life?
My own journey and experience, just have to enjoy it!!
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
Work work work
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
Being the first athlete to compete in two different disciplines at the Olympics on the same day.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
I want new ankles.

Favourites and �Bests�:

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
Well balanced. I like potatoes and some good meat. For a drink it depends what I crave, but I like pop.
Favourite Movie: Shawshank Redemption is really good, because I like the story. And I like the humour in the movie Snatch.
Favourite Music: Not pop or R&B or hip hop. I like indie rock, rock and some electronic. I like the Wild Beasts Apparat and many more.
Favourite Book: On the Wings of Eagle by Ken Follet. True story and I loved reading it.
Favourite Car: I guess a Ferrari would do.
Favourite Country: I love Canada, the nature, the space, a beautiful place.
Best memory: The Olympic experience, but there are lots of others.
Best way to �dress to impress�: I wear a Donald Duck outfit.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: Kelsey. She�s fun and a female McGyvor, and can cook!
Favourite Speed Skater: Jeremy Wotherspoon, because he still holds the world record and I like his skating style.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: There are lots of great performers, I don�t have a favourite.
Favourite Ice Rink: Calgary and Salt Lake City.

Speed Skating:

Previous Coaches: Jeroen Otter. The space is too small to write all I�ve learned from him.
Started Skating: When I was 22, partly as preparation training for Short Track.
Training Time: 25 to 30 hours in the summer and winter.
Skates: VH custom boots and maple blades, because they were what was available and I haven�t tried any others yet.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
North American Open Championships, I did a 6:27 in the 5000� and I won.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
Becoming European Champion at home and the Olympics.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
Better skating technique.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
8 to 10 hours per day.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
You make our world turn!
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
I�ll do my best to make it happen.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Nicknames: "Harry" or "Harris"
Birthdate: 07/04/1986
Height: 178 cm
Weight: 77 kg
Eye colour: Blue
Shoe size: 44.5