Gustav Akesson

Personal Information

Born in: I was born in Motala, Sweden. It’s a smaller city inhabited by 42,000 people. It lies by the second biggest lake in Sweden and has a lot of beaches and also the biggest freshwater beach in northern Europe.
Family and friends: My family consist of me, my older sister and brother, my parents and younger sister. My father have always been sporting such as handball, table tennis and speed skating. My mother played table tennis in school but she never practiced speed skating. My brother and younger sister does speed skating but my brother only do it for fun now. My older sister now lives three hours away in Gothenburg and had a daughter in august which is the most adorable little nugget ever. I also have my girlfriend Rebecca that I love very much.
Religion: No
Schooling: In highschool I studied to be an electrician but last term i felt that it wasn’t for me. So I finished school and got my grades. Now I’m thinking of learning german and later on I want to study to become a physiotherapist.
Hobbies: I usually put on a movie, hang out with friends (not as often as I’d like), play video games and I also play the guitar.
Other sports: I played football for several years and became quite good technically. I’ve also been doing some track and field. I enjoy watching cycling whenever it’s on tv also skiing and football.

Personal Questions

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
When things doesn’t go my way or when family or friends are ill or have problems. I usually want to be on my own or talk to someone close about it.
What is your definition of “happiness?”
Happiness is being with the people you like and doing things that makes you excited. Speed Skating is such a thing for me.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
I am very shy and sometimes a bit insecure. Especially if I have to talk infront of a big group of people or performing with my guitar and singing.
Is there anything that you are ashamed of?
Having to quit a training session because of my diabetes and tell the coaches that I won’t be able to keep going. Though this happens on very rare occasions.
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day? And how do you ‘dress to impress’?
I spend 2-5 minutes infront of the mirror every day. Maybe I’ll just wear some good looking jeans and a shirt.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day? Why?
I’d like to be someone good at speed skating to know what it feels like to go fast. Otherwise I’m happy with who I am.
If you could possess one superpower, what would it be and why?
Flying so I could see the world from a different point of view.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
Attending the olympics and to skate really good.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
I don’t worry about the future.
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
”What you put in is what you get out”
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I’m not really sure yet, but I think I want to study to become a physiotherapist.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
I would go back in time a few years to tell my younger self to turn off the computer and go outside training more.

Favourites and ‘Bests’

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
My favorite food is lasagna or indian minced meat.
Favourite Movie: Shawshank Redemption is my favorite movie.
Favourite Music: I don’t have a favorite music style, I’m good with almost anything.
Favourite Love Song: Perfect for me by Ron Pope or Follow Through by Gavin DeGraw
Favourite Book: The Hunger Games or Harry Potter
Favourite Car: Camaro SS 2010
Favourite Country: Sweden… of course!
Best compliment: I don’t know
Best memory: I’ve got too many of those. I can’t choose, maybe something with my girlfriend.
Best way to ‘dress to impress’: A pair of nice jeans and a shirt I think.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: My girlfriend.
Favourite Speed Skater: Shani Davis
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Marcus Hellner, skiing. Or perhaps Gunde Svan who also did skiing.
Favourite Ice Rink: Max Aicher Arena in Inzell or Vikingskipet in Hamar. Even Thialf in Heerenveen is really nice. I think I prefer the one in Inzell.

Speed Skating

Previous Coaches: Roger Brask, Leif Axelsson and Peter Andersson is a few of the coaches in my club at home. They taught me the basics and a lot of technique.
Started Skating: I started skating at the age of 2 when my parents took me to the ice rink. And as my father always did speed skating it came natural.
Training Time: Depends on what the training schedule says.
Skates: Viking boots and blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
The first important race for me was probably during Viking Race in Heerenveen at the age of 12. I did 4 pb’s. Also the swedish youth championships were very important.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
The first time I skated for the national team at the age of 16. There is surely more to come.
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
Almost every race during season 2013-2104 as I was ill during the whole season.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
When I sleep I sleep until the alarm goes off. During important events I sleep as good as every other night. I sleep 8-9 hours every night.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
I surely hope so. I will do everything I can while trying to achive it.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Name: Gustav Åkesson

Country: Sweden

Birthdate: 1994/09/22

Height: 176 cm

Weight: 68kg

Eye colour: Brown

Shoe Size: 40.5

Personal Records

500m: 40,10
1000m: 1.19,33
1500m: 2.03,79
3000m: 4.26,88
5000m: 8.01,92


500m     40,10    

1000m 1.19,33

1500m 2.03,79

3000m 4.26,88

5000m 8.01,92