Espen Tveit

Personal Information

Born in: I`m born in a city called Skien and I have been living there all my life. It`s a city with about 50 000 residents.
Family and friends: I have two sisters, one little sister that is 15 years old and one big sister that is 22. They also like to do sports, but not speedskating. My father works as an economist and my mother as teacher.
Religion: No
Schooling: Last year I started some education in economics at my home place. I will finish that study this year (I`m taking 50% study per year).
Hobbies: I like nearly everything that is competition, like football, playing ps3 and stuff. And of course I also like being out with friends and just having fun.
Other sports: Football, tennis, cycling, frisbee-golf.

10 Personal Questions

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
Especially bad results can make me angry, but then I just focus more on the training and trying to do things different and better.  
What are you ashamed of?
Nothing. Haha.  
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day?  And how do you �dress to impress�?
Next to nothing, maybe 5 minutes a day. I just dress what I like to wear and think is cool.  
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?  Why?
Usain Bolt maybe, it would be cool to be the fastest person in the world for just one day.  
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
Hmm.. good races in speedskating.  
What is your biggest motivation in life?
Just being better in the things I like to do.  
What is your biggest worry for the future?
I don`t use so much time worrying about things. But if I should say something, it`s maybe to get a good education while I`m a speedskater.  
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
�Everything you want is possible�.  
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
Not yet.. Speedskating is the most fun these days, time will show.  
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
Hmm. being a better speedskater every year, I hope it will continue that way.

Favourites and Bests

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
For recovery I eat lots of eggs, chicken, grains, milk and stuff.. My favorite foods are actually pizza, kebab and a good beef.
Favourite Movie: Don`t watch so many movies, so I`m not sure to be honest.
Favourite Music: David Guetta, The Lonely Island, Nickelback etc..
Favourite Love Song: Don`t know if I even remember one :p
Favourite Book: Don`t read too much, but the biography about Zlatan Ibrahimovic was interesting.
Favourite Car:  Ford Focus titanium 2011 of course. Haha.
Favourite Country: ......Sweden? Hehe, noo.. Of course Norway!
Best compliment: When people says �you're the best�.
Best memory: Beating my earlier coach in Norway (Sondre Skarli) in jumping and sprinting. He likes to sound a bit slightly superior and he thinks he`s the best, but no longer.. 
Best way to �dress to impress�:  I`m wearing what I like, but I hate wearing a suit. It`s uncomfortable.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: Probably Macgyver, the best way to survive I think..
Favourite Speed Skater: Shani Davis
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Petter Northug (norwegian skier).
Favourite Ice Rink: Max Aicher Arena, Inzell :)

Speed Skating

Previous Coaches: Previously I had three coaches. First an old sprinter named �yvind Giske. The last years the earlier olympian Stian Bj�rge has been my coach at home, and Sondre Skarli (or �Sondre Skarli the one� that he call himself) at the bigger team named Team Aust Agder with location in Arendal. Of course I have learned a lot from them!
Started Skating: I started when I was about 8 years old. Not sure if there was only one reason why, but maybe because I saw an old skater on the track in Skien going much faster than I even could imagine on my hockey-skates. At that moment I decided to try these things.. 
Training Time: Depends what time of year it is, in summertime maybe about 5-6 hours a day. In winter time something less.  .
Skates: I use Groothuis custom boots and maple twin laser steel for the next season. 
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
In reality it was just a normal race called �Hamar Lekene� in Vikingskipet in Hamar, but for me it felt really big at that age. I was about 10 years old and won for my first time in �Vikingskipet�.  
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
The highlights are bigger every year, and I hope it will continue that way. So far it`s the debut in WC last season and being on the podium on distance in the norwegian championship in both allround and sprint in my first year as a senior.  
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
My three 500m in �The Oval Final� in calgary last season, they were all cruel.    
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
I want to develope all things, but especially my technique on ice, balance and top speed.  
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
I sleep 8-9 hours a day, and I have never been awake in the night during important events.  
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
I should be better!  
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
The dream is of course to be an Olympic Champion, but it`s a long way to go. I will do what I can to be as good as possible and train really hard with focus.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


190 cm
82 kg
Eyes: Brown
Shoe size: 44