Born in: I was born in Minnesund, which is a small village in Eidsvoll. For the past two years I've lived downtown Oslo, which is the capital of Norway.
Family and friends: I have an older sister.
Schooling: Completed high school, and have done some smaller courses at the University of Oslo the last couple of years. More to come!
Hobbies: Drinking good coffee, music, sports in general, watching movies/tv-shows.
Other sports: I used to play football, table tennis and did a lot of cross country skiing when I was young.


Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
Meeting a lot of new people that I don't know at all!
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day?  
Hopefully less than the girls in the team, and for sure less time now than when I had longer hair...
Is there something that you often dream of achieving? 
Yes, of course. I have an Olympic dream. 
What is your biggest motivation in life?
To get better by working hard and then watching the progression you have made afterwards. I really like the process of getting better at something.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
There's no reason to worry about the future: Accept the challenges that appear and solve them as good as possible.
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I want to study medicine and work as a doctor.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
Why change yourself? Be proud of yourself and develop yourself within different areas of life!


What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
It depends on the training that I just did, so it can be either pure protein or a mix of proteins and carbohydrates, which I usually eat/drink during cool down.
Favorite foods: I really love a good steak, taco and I will admit that coffe and chocolate is a favorite combination as well!
Favourite Movie: Hard to choose one, because there are so many good ones out there. Either a mafia-movie like Goodfellas or the Godfather triology, or anyone of the movies directed by Quentin Tarantino.
Favourite Music: EDM (house, dubstep, electro, trap, moombahcore and so on.)
Favourite Book:  Maybe "Shantaram" or "1984"
Favourite Car:  My own Nissan Qashqai+2 and of course my girlfriends' Porsche 911.
Favourite Country:  Norway, of course, It has a beautiful nature and also a decent standard of living.
Best compliment: "Now I can recognize the sport" from my former coach Janne Hänninen.
Best memory:  Impossible to choose one when you have so many to choose from!
Best way to 'dress to impress':  It depends on the occasion, but I like to wear collared shirts on a daily basis, so I guess I would suit up... However, it's more important to dress well every day.
Favourite Speed Skater:  Not one specific, but I have had different "idols" since I was a little kid.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Perhaps Aksel Lund Svindal, a Norwegian Alpine Skier, a great athlete and Olympic Champion/World Champion.
Favourite Ice Rink:  Calgary, Canada. It's such a nice and fast track, and it is always warm inside, which is completely different from what we are used to in Hamar.


Previous Coaches: Janne Hänninen, Frode Rönning. I've learned so much from these two about training, skating, equipment and so on.
Started Skating:  In Eidsvoll, a friend was skating and I wanted to try it out. The Olympics in Lillehammer in 1994 also inspired me, I've been told that I was imitating Koss wearing wollen socks on the floor in the living room...
Skates:  Marchese boots and Maple blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
National Youth Championships in Trondheim at the age of 12. To my great surprise I won the 500m.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
Being on the podium in Viking Race when I was 16 years old was a highlight for me. And the National record in the 500m last year, being the first Norwegian to skate sub-35, was fun and a goal that I had had for many years. 
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
Maybe my last 5000m, when I was 16 years old. It was basically 10 laps too long!
What would you like to develop as a speed skater? 
Train hard and smart, work on my technique, develop my acceleration on the ice.... and some time in the future do a decent last lap in the 1000m ;)
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
Usually 8-9hrs during the night and 45min-1,5hr between the sessions.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
More to come!
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
That is my dream, and I will work very hard every day to achieve it.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Name: Espen Aarnes Hvammen
Country: Norway
Birthdate: 13/11/1988
Height: 183 cm
Weight: 82 kg
Eye colour: Blue
Shoe size: 42,5