Ching-Yang Sung

Personal Information

Born in: Taipei, it is the capital of Taiwan.
Family and friends: I have 2 younger sisters and 1 younger brother. My brother worked with my father in construction for houses, one of my sisters is married and she has a child and stays home and takes care of the child, and my other sister is an inline skating coach. This sister also competed at inline skating.
Religion: None, but all religions are okay for me.
Schooling: I am in University right now. I study sport.
Hobbies: I like to play sports more than anything. Outside of sports I like to go fishing, mostly on the ocean.
Other sports: I competed at Inline Skating, I was the junior world champion at 300m, 500m, 1000m, 42k marathon, and relay. I like all sports, too many sports to say. I like to play basketball a lot.

Some personal questions…

Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
I’m never shy but sometimes when I meet a lovely girl I am shy.
What are you ashamed of?
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day? And how do you ‘dress to impress’?
I like to wear national team clothes, I feel cool being a national team member.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day? Why?
I don’t want to be anyone else, even for one day.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
I dream of achieving a gold medal at the Olympics.
What is your biggest motivation in life?
The coaching is the biggest thing that motivates me, because I want to be an inline coach later.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
No, I don’t worry.
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I want to have a simple life and be happy.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
I am very proud of my inline skating results. Winning the Asian games was a very poud moment for me.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
I would change my brain to be smarter.

Favourites and ‘Bests’

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
My favourite food is beef steak. After hard training I like to just eat normal food, nothing special.
Favourite Movie: I like the movie series “the fast and furious.”
Favourite Music: I like a lot of music, but I don’t have one favourite.
Favourite Book: No, I don’t like to read, it makes me want to sleep.
Favourite Car: Camero. Camry
Favourite Country: I like the Maldives because it is a beautiful place. I like the sea.
Best compliment: I am always thankful to my coach because he always gives me lots of advice and suggestions, and I always remember the things that he says..
Best way to ‘dress to impress’: I like to impress girls by wearing national team clothes, so that they are impressed that I am a national team sportsman.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: My coach
Favourite Speed Skater: Jeremy
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Chad Hedrick

Speed Skating

Previous Coaches: I just started speed skating, my first speed skating coach is Jan Bos at the KIA Speed Skating Academy. My coach’s name is Yung-Sung Tai, he has been a very good coach for me and taught me a lot of things.
Started Skating: When I was 15 years old I started Short track skating. I started Long Track in 2007 at 16.
Training Time: In inline skating I would train 5 hours per day.
Skates: I wear boots from Taipei and Maple blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
My first important long track race was the world junior championship. It was okay.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
None that are more special than others.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
First 100 I need to improve.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
I sleep 7 or 8 per night, and I like to nap every day for 1 or 2 hours. Before an important competition I go to sleep later than normal because I am nervous.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
Thank you for watching me.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
Yes, I will. I will take every little step to get to that dream.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Name: Ching-Yang Sung
Country: Taiwan
Birthdate: 18/10/1992
Height: 168cm
Weight: 72kg
Eye colour: Brown
Shoe Size: US 9