Artur Was

Personal Information

Born in: Warsaw, the capital of Poland.
Family and friends: I have two older brothers, but they don't skate. I have a girlfriend which I love very much :)
Religion: I don't like to talk about these things. Mainly because my concept cannot be easily explained with words or even thoughts. But yes, I do believe there is much more to our universe than a random concept of "it just happened by accident". Although I do believe it's as simple as that. See, no use in talking about it :)
Schooling and work: I started Sound Engineering but haven't finished it. I plan on finishing it one day though. I do work sometimes, and it's usually construction or art related.
Hobbies: Video/Music production, Sound Design, Nature, Philosophy, People and psychology, Optics, bird watching, astronomy.
Other sports: I did all kinds of sports before speed skating as I went to sport profile school. My favourites are Frisbee and hiking.

10 personal questions

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
Goodbyes are the only things that make me sad in my life. It's usually a matter of taking your thoughts away from that.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
I don't get shy as much these days.. I guess Im getting old...
What are you ashamed of?
When I let my emotions slip out of control.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?
I'll stick to myself and enjoy what I was given, thanks.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?
I'd like to get exceptionally good at something. it's a work in progress...
What is your biggest worry for the future?
Worries ruin life.
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
"It's just a ride"
If you were booking a long trip, whom would you like to sit next to on the airplane and why?
My girlfriend! We travelled a couple of times together and she's perfect company for a long-haul flight!
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
Making a decision to come back to skating.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
Completely getting rid of the ego.. but then.. I could not exist in this world, could I?

Favourites and Bests

What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
My favorite food is sushi but I enjoy basically all kinds of foods. I eat fast and a lot. For drinks I like Root Beer! Dr Pepper, Piwo Świeże (amazing polish beer).
Favourite Movie: My three favorite movies are "Baraka", "Koyaanisqatsi" and "Waking Life" . I think everyone should see the first two at some point in their lives. It really opens up your mind to who you are and what you're doing here.
Favourite Music: I enjoy some good Neurofunk Drum & Bass
Favourite Love Song (to propose marriage with): I would definitely not use a love song to propose. that's just cheesy.
Favourite Book: I like philosophy and psychology books but something other than those that I would recommend is "A Clockwork Orange" by Anthony Burgess mostly because of the specific type of language used. Stanley Kubrick's adaptation was awesome but the book is what it's really about. I didn't want it to end.
Favourite Car: Not really a car person.
Favourite Country: Earth is amazing, no matter where you go there is always something you can live as a work of art.
Best compliment: The best compliment used to me "good work" from my coach.
Best memory: Oh boy there's a lot of those... I don't really have a favourite one. I appreciate all of them.
Best way to 'dress to impress': Whatever fits right and whenever the time is right.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: Someone I`d love.
Favourite Speed Skater: I think it's going to be me... I haven't had a chance to meet my future self yet. But I'm working on it.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: I admire any athlete that became an icon in their field. That just shows that they truly are the best. Not just once but all time best sportsman.
Favourite Ice Rink: Max Aicher Arena.

Speed Skating:

Previous Coaches: Andrzej Swięcicki: was there from the very beginning of my skating adventure. Pawel Abratkiewicz: upgrade on technique and precision. Jeremy Wotherspoon, complete rewiring / all I know about speed skating today.
Started Skating: I started speed skating after a school trip to the World Single Distance Championships in Warsaw. I was hooked on it like everything else I saw live at that time. Turned out Im doing pretty good so I sticked with it. I was eleven at that time..
Training Time: I do the typical week. usually twice a day for about two hours. during summer it might be 3 times a day at some points.
Skates: Maple
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
OZD (national championships for kids) four races. won two, fell in two. ranked 3rd in total. I used to wipe out all the time :)
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
The older I get the more I see how each moment of my speed skating adventure made me the athlete that I am today. Therefor I am grateful for all of them.
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
I don't remember :) I don't dwell on the past for too long.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
I would like to develop an effective technique power and adequate stamina.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
I'm not sure what's optimal, but I do meditate to help myself relax. And If I really have problems with falling asleep I take melatonin.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
"Keep them crossed!"
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
Time will show! I really want to and I'll do my best to achieve it.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Full name: Artur Marek Waś
Nicknames: "Wasiu", "Lubi Lubricatio", "Pan Toster"
Country: Poland
Birthdate: 27/04/1986
Height: 192
Weight: 86 kg
Eye colour: Grey to Beer...
Shoe size: 45