Born in: I was born in Hokkaido prefecture, Abashiri city. The city has 40,000 inhabitants. My mother still lives there.  I went to high school in Ikeda town, and University in Tokyo.  After University I lived in Sapporo. And after Vancouver 2010  I lived in Obihiro. 
Family and friends:  I have two younger brothers. They are 26 and 21 years old. They are not speed skaters. My parents were farmer. They did grow potatoes, soy, wheat and sugar beet. 
Religion:  I don't believe in any religion. but if I force myself to determine which religion I am more closer to, I would say that I am closer to both Buddhism and Shintoism. I would say that my belief is more like a mixture of both. For many Japanese, we celebrate New Years in the style of Shintoism,  weddings in Christianity,  and funerals in Buddhism.
Schooling: I studied politics and economics in University for 4 years. I graduated and finished my studies. 
Hobbies:  My hobby is watching baseball on the TV and cheer for my favorite team "Nippon Ham"up. Sometimes I go to the ball park.
Other sports: In junior high school  I did track and field, 200M, 400M, 1500M and 3K. In high school only speed skating. I'm not good at sports that use balls.


What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
When I have a stomach ache. I will take a medicine.
What are you ashamed of?
I'm not ashamed of anything !!
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day?  
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?  Why?
Yu Darvish. Because he is very good base ball player. And he has a lot of money, moreover he is good-looking.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving?  
I want to be the Olympic champion.  
What is your biggest motivation in life?
I want to grow both as a person and as a speed skater.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
I don't have worries for my future.
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
"memento mori" I want to spend every day in a meaningful way that I will not regret it later.
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
That is something I still don't know about.  But I want to coach kids someday.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
When I competed in Vancouver 2010 . 
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
I want to become fluent in English.


What do you eat for recovery, and what are your favourite foods?
I like Ramen. Ramen is a Japanese noodle dish. Especially my favourite Ramen is "SAIMI's Miso". "SAIMI" is fantastic Ramen restaurant in Sapporo.
Favourite Movie:  "OUTRAGE" directed by Takeshi Kitano.
Favourite Music: I like all kind of music. Especially I like up-tempo music.
Favourite Love Song:  "Utautai no ballad" by the singer Kazuyoshi Saito
Favourite Book:  I like novels. Especially wrote by "Kotaro Isaka"
Favourite Car:  I like my car "Nissan MURANO". But I want to ride "Aston Martin" someday.
Favourite Country:  Germany !! Because Inzell is very comfortable to live in and so beautiful.
Best compliment: Thank you for being born!
Best memory:  I appeared on the Japanese TV show "Tokyo Friend Park 2"
Best way to 'dress to impress':  I like to wear a suit.
Favourite Speed Skater:  Hiroyasu Shimizu.
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Tsuyoshi Shinjo. He was great entertainer in the  Japanese professional base ball league.
Favourite Ice Rink:  Thialf Heerenveen. That rink is most get large audience in the world.


Previous Coaches: In elementary school and junior high school, my coaches were Haruzo Sugita and Takahiro Sato.  Also Masao Nomura and Akira Goto were my high school coach.  My University coach was Keiichi Suzuki. After university, my coach were Masato Hishinuma and Yasushi Suzuki. I had so many good coaches, I can't name them all here, but they were all very good coaches and taught me a lot. 
Started Skating:  I started skating when I was 6 years old. We had a good ice rink on the school playground. That ice rink was handmade by parents' association.
Training Time:  I did training 3-6 hours/day and 5 days/week in Japan.
Skates:  I uses Oi boots (made by Mr.Oi) and Maple blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
Every competition was very important for me.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
Vancouver Olympic Games
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
I usually forget that soon, so I don't remember.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
I need all. Power, technique, mentality and everything.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events?
6-9 hours. I can't sleep easily during important events, I am very nervous.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day and what will you do to achieve it?
I will make efforts step by step, with believing what Wim, Jan and Jeremy coach me.

  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE


Name: Akio Ohta  
Country: Japan  
Birthdate: 3/9/1984  
Height: 175 cm  
Weight: 76 kg  
Eye colour: Black  
Shoe Size: 42